Breitling announces a new partnership with Six Nations Rugby


Breitling announces a new partnership with Six Nations Rugby

Breitling announces a new partnership with Six Nations Rugby

Ahead of the season’s start on February 5
La Cote des Montres - January 26th, 2022

Ahead of the season’s start on February 5, Breitling has announced a three-year partnership with Six Nations Rugby, which will make the Swiss luxury watch brand the Official Timing Partner of the Guinness Six Nations, the Women’s Six Nations, the Autumn Nations Series, and the 2023 RWC warm-up matches.

Breitling has become the Official Timing Partner of Six Nations Rugby, in an entirely new partnership that extends to the Women’s Championship for the first time ever. The Guinness Six Nations, rugby’s greatest championship, is renowned for showcasing exhilarating matches from across the unions: England, Ireland, Scotland, France, Italy, and Wales. The latter are the current champions.

“Our timepieces enable high performance and inspire great feats by empowering people to live their passions with confidence,” says Breitling CEO Georges Kern. “At the heart of the rugby spirit is a fearless, no-limits state of mind that Breitling’s watches are the perfect accompaniment to.”

Not only joined in attitude, the collaboration between Breitling and the Six Nations racks up many more points. Both strive for excellence through action while delivering an ethos of teamwork, inclusivity, integrity, and creativity. They also share a heritage: Breitling was founded in 1884, while Six Nations Rugby can trace its roots back a year earlier, to 1883.

This season begins with the Guinness Six Nations Championship, starting on February 5 and running until March 19. Then, from March 26 to April 30, Europe’s most talented female players will take to the pitch in the Women’s Six Nations.

As part of its expanded presence in the sport, Breitling has recently signed new local Squad Members hailing from all six nations. From England, Kyle Sinckler, Scotland’s Stuart Hogg, George North of Wales, Ireland’s Conor Murray, and former players Vincent Clerc of France and Martín Castrogiovanni from Italy. Former Welsh international rugby union captain and current presenter Sam Warburton will also join the Breitling Squad.

The watch brand will also be involved in every minute of the action at the Autumn Nations Series in October, when the six European teams welcome other global rugby nations, such as New Zealand, South Africa, Argentina, and Japan.

“The partnership between Breitling and Six Nations Rugby is a hugely exciting moment for everyone involved,” says Six Nations Rugby CEO Ben Morel. “It is a partnership of firsts; an Official Timing Partner supporting the women’s game and a progressive new partnership, spanning all Six Nations Rugby annual competitions. As such, a huge amount of credit goes to the unions for creating these championship opportunities, and to Breitling for bringing their enthusiasm to all aspects of this partnership.”

Breitling is looking forward to being part of the sport’s legacy through its upcoming collaborations with Six Nations Rugby, its unions and fans, and local communities. This year’s opening kickoff is sure to mark the start of a great season and an exciting partnership.

About Breitling


Since 1884, Breitling has established a global reputation for high-precision timepieces, its pioneering role in the development of the wrist chronograph, and its uncompromising commitment to design excellence. With the brand’s storied association with aviation, Breitling has shared the finest moments in humankind’s conquest of the skies. Renowned for its spirit of innovation, it has also earned a place of privilege in the worlds of science, sport, and technology. Breitling manufactures its own movements in-house and the quality of every one is – like the movements in all Breitling watches – confirmed by its status as a COSC-certified chronometer, made in Switzerland.


Six Nations Rugby


Six Nations Rugby is the official organising body of the annual Six Nations Championships and Autumn Nations Series.

Working in partnership with its member unions and federations in England (RFU), France (FFR), Ireland (IRFU), Italy (FIR), Scotland (SRU), and Wales (WRU), Six Nations Rugby has responsibility for the promotion and operation of the renowned Six Nations Championships and Autumn International Series, as well as the negotiation and management of their centralised commercial rights.

The Six Nations Championship is the oldest international rugby tournament in the world, dating back to its original incarnation in 1883 and expanding to its current format of six teams in 2000. It consists of three highly competitive annual tournaments across men’s, women’s, and U20s rugby.

In its day-to-day operations, Six Nations Rugby is guided by the core values of courage, solidarity, inclusion, integrity, and creativity. Together with its unions and federations, Six Nations Rugby is committed to the development of rugby at all levels, as well as working with other governing and representative bodies around the world to ensure the best possible future for the game, its players, and its fans.